Day 15: Healthier Lifestyle

Click HERE to check out the days you’ve missed!

One of the best things that has come from living in Costa Rica for a year is our health!

Before I even made it down here to join Peter (he was here for three weeks before I came) he had already dropped quite a few pounds. I’ll be honest, I didn’t really notice that he had put that much weight before we moved here, so you can understand how surprised I was when I looked over at my screensaver (you know, the one that scrolls through all of your pictures?) and saw a picture of Peter hiking in Utah in November before he left for CR, and he looked so…..puffy. The picture below shows that photo (left) and a photo of Peter when we went to Arenal Volcano in January!

Left- November 2011Right- January 2012

Left- November 2011
Right- January 2012

He had lost so much weight! Mainly fat. We ate out a lot in Vegas, and although I think we thought we were eating healthy I think we splurged more that we should have. Plus, when you eat out there are many extra  ingredients you don’t always realize are in your meal and can add calories.

Here, fresh fruits and vegetables are all easily available. Now, I say that, but did you know that most restaurants (including McDonald’s, Burger King, Wendy’s, and Taco Bell) have a delivery service!? You would think that would make crappy fast food more easily attainable, but in reality, since we do not speak Spanish very well and it is more difficult to understand over the phone, we never tried the delivery service for any restaurant. Why would we want to go through the extra trouble and effort for something that’s bad for us?

I can’t remember how to merge photos together like I did for Peter’s picture, but here are my before and after pictures below!

This was me at Jaco beach on Christmas Day 2011.

This was me at Jaco beach on Christmas Day 2011.         

And this was taken some time in the spring. I honestly can't remember the exact date, but I had been living here for a few months at this point.

And this was taken some time in the spring. 

 

I lost around 10-12 lbs (I’m 5’4) and Peter lost around 20 (he’s 5’11/6’0)!

I’m sure it helped that when I was working as a teacher, I was walking around 2 miles 5 days a week on my way to and from work. Like I said, having such easy access to fruits and veggies meant we were eating more raw foods, and we get our meat from a local butcher. There is a fruit stand on the same corner as the closest bus stop to us, and the feria (street market) sets up in downtown Santa Ana every Sunday from 5 a.m. – 12 p.m. The foods here even taste so much better than the foods from the grocery store back home. Carrots and cucumbers are sweeter, and the chicken here tastes SO good! I didn’t even realize you could taste the difference between the hormone-injected chicken in the U.S. and the more naturally-grown chicken here.

We also have a gym here that we try and put to use (Peter does more often than me 🙂  ) and there are hills EVERYWHERE, so going for a ‘walk’ turns into a pretty nice workout. You can’t help but want to go outside and enjoy all of the beautiful weather here anyway. The weight came off so effortlessly here. I just hope we are able to stay on track when we get home.

Stay tuned for updates on that in the future!

I would love to hear what you do to stay in shape in the States. Have any good recipes or workout ideas? Let me know! I LOVE trying a new, delicious and healthy recipe!

~Thanks for reading~

Pura vida!

Categories: Travel | Tags: , , , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Day 15: Healthier Lifestyle

  1. Pingback: 30 Day Challenge « ticavida

  2. Hot yoga and Salsa dancing!

  3. Pingback: Day 18: Clothes and Shopping « ticavida

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

