Day 12: Tipper

Click HERE to read about all of the other things we’ve experienced while living in Costa Rica!!

Today’s post is a bit of a sad one.

Once we decided to move here for a year, we brought our cat with us!

This is one of my favorites of Tipper!

This is one of my favorites of Tipper!

 

We first got her in the spring of 2009 and she was already 8 years old at the time. Her owner was diagnosed with a form of cancer and wanted to know that her cat was going to be in a good home after she passed away.

Peter and I still always talk about how crazy she was when we first got her. She stayed under the bed for the first week we had her, and when she eventually came out, she would jump out of her skin at the slightest sneeze or cough…

She came such a long way since then. We dragged her to three different apartments, she stayed at my mom’s house for a summer (we were travelling a lot), she rode in the car with us when we bought our first home and moved from TX to NV, and last, we’ve flown her to another country! I am so glad we did, too. She was a blast to have here and always put a smile on our face.

Now, I say “was a blast” because something sad happened. The apartment complex we live in sends guys to keep up our yard every two weeks or so. Their arrival is never consistent because the rainy season has unpredictable weather.

Peter and I had blocked off all of the openings where Tipper has attempted an escape before, and one of those is a small side gate around the side of our building. We also squeezed outdoor chair cushions in the open slots on the gate, so she couldn’t slip through there. We just wanted her to be able to roam around our yard, but not escape!

This is our side gate.

This is our side gate.

Well, the guys came to weed eat our yard and when they left, they left the side gate open. I was in the States at the time, so Peter was here by himself.  When he got up the next morning he opened the patio door and let Tipper out into the yard not knowing the side gate was wide open. After a few hours of playing poker, he took a break and went to look for Tipper….he couldn’t find her. He looked all over the house, and even all over the complex and asked the security guards if they’d seen her. Unfortunately, we never saw her again.  😦

I really just felt bad that Peter was here alone after Tipper ran away, and I was all the way in the U.S.  He Skyped to tell me she had gone missing and I was so sad she was gone. I still get sad remembering her and all he quirks and funny manor-isms. I tell myself that someone found her and she is in a good home. It’s better than thinking she got eaten by some animal in the rain forest of Costa Rica!

Here are some of the photos we have of her!

This was in our new home in Las Vegas...she was POOPED from all the moving in.

This was in our new home in Las Vegas…she was POOPED from all the moving in.

This was during the 21 hour drove from Arlington, TX to Las Vegas, NV.

This was during the 21 hour drove from Arlington, TX to Las Vegas, NV. Looks comfortable.

She LOVED being in showers or bath tubs...of course not with any water in them.

She LOVED being in showers or bath tubs…of course not with any water in them. She would sit here and watch me while I got ready in the mornings.

She liked high places. Watching everyone with those creepy eyes!

She liked high places. Watching everyone with those creepy eyes!

This was last New Years! Here in Costa Rica.

This was New Years 2011/2012! Here in Costa Rica.

Sunbathing in the first apartment Peter and I lived in together. She could juuuust barely squeeze into that sunlight..lol.

Sunbathing in the first apartment Peter and I lived in together. She could juuuust barely squeeze into that sliver of sunlight..lol.

She napped often on our red couch here in CR. We laid a towel on the couch to keep hair from getting everywhere.

She napped often on our red couch here in CR. We laid a towel on the couch to keep hair from getting everywhere.

She really enjoyed the grass outside here in CR. She was always an indoor cat before, so I think that didn't help in her finding her way home.

Tipper really enjoyed the grass outside here in CR. She was always an indoor cat before, so I think that didn’t help in her finding her way home here. 😦

You never know when your pets could be gone! Go give them a big hug right now!

We will have to look into getting another kitty when we get home…maybe!

~Thanks for reading~

Pura vida!

Categories: Travel | Tags: , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Day 12: Tipper

  1. Pingback: 30 Day Challenge « ticavida

  2. Aweeeeee 😦 I’m so sorry to hear about Tipper! My cat does the same creepy bathroom shower thing…

    • Thank you, Cheryl! It was really hard at first, but it’s better now. I’m already wanting to get another one once we get back to the States 🙂

  3. Debby

    Wit do you remember the cat that has babies and Dan an I took the two black ones well jake ran off we still have Jed he will be 13 years in Feb. He is our baby boy Im so sorry Tipper got lost . If Jed ran off I would be lost with out him . Love you Debby

  4. Veronica

    Aw man :0( I had no idea about this. I’m so sorry o hear about Tipper!

    • Aw, yes, I’m sorry VV…I never really posted about it, but I’m planning to. I have so many cute pics of her. Especially the one with you!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

