Day 2: Laundry

If you want to see all of my other posts for this 30 day challenge, click here!

Laundry. Something we all have to do (usually on the weekends). Well, it’s the weekend, and guess what I’m doing today? That’s right, you guessed it!

Here, in Costa Rica, when I think of laundry there is a whole different process to it.

I know I probably shouldn’t even be complaining, because at least I have a washer. It’s actually a washer and dryer in one! Crazy, huh? When we first realized it was 2 in 1, I thought, “Why don’t more Americans use this? It would save time switching clothes from washer to dryer, as well as effort.”

Also, I know I’m not the only one who has put a load in the wash and then started doing something else and totally forgot about the laundry, then you have to rewash it to get the musty smell out….am I?  Ok, you don’t have to admit to it. I understand.

I’ll start with a pic of our washer/dryer combo machine.

Image

Not too shabby, eh?

I’d like for you to note Peter’s shoe (size 10) on the floor next to it as a reference to the size of the machine. Yea, not very big. Which means I can’t put as much in it as my one back home. I end up doing many small loads instead if a few large ones.

OH, and I did try out the dryer early on and it only takes a mere 2 and a half hours to dry something! AH!!! We decided to save some energy and hang dry almost all of our stuff instead.

Here is a picture of our apartment this very second!

Image

We had to wash sheets. Also, normally we dry our things outside, but since it is the end of rainy season the weather can be a bit unpredictable and I don’t want everything to get rained on!

There is one thing we do take the time to leave in the dryer and that’s our towels. Who doesn’t love a warm, fluffy, good-smelling towel?! Totally worth the wait. And the extra colones on the electric bill.

I should mention that the washer we have is different than most typical washers here. I don’t have a picture, but I think they are semi-automatic.

Going home will be weird for me. Part of me will be happy to throw all my clothes in one load. Woo hoo! There is another part of me that will want to hang dry EVERYTHING!

One reason, the hippie in me that wants to save the planet will come through. A second reason, it will save on our energy bill. Plus, Las Vegas has such a dry climate, everything will dry in no time at all!

My only problem now is that I have the tiniest laundry room ever back home.

Where to hang it all…?

Hope you enjoyed this post and be sure to check in tomorrow for Day 3!

Pura vida!

Categories: Travel | Tags: , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Day 2: Laundry

  1. Pingback: 30 Day Challenge « ticavida

  2. Wit we used a washer like that when we went to scotland washer great dryer not we had things drying everywhere. Debby

  3. This is a great post! I managed to live my first three years hear with a tico style washer (that was broken so I had to bucket the water into it lol) I have a real washer and dryer now. No more moldy clothes for this girl!!!

    • Thank you! I was relieved when I saw a tico washer that we had ours. It made me appreciate ours more 🙂 I love you blog so far, can’t wait to read more!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

