30 Day Challenge: My Costa Rican Experience

Hello friends!

I have decided for our last 30 days here in Costa Rica, I am going to write a different post each day covering our thoughts and experiences about living here for a year.

Let me just say that moving here stirred up so many emotions in me last November. Excitement, curiosity, fear, anticipation. Two of my major goals in life had been to live in another country and learn another language. I just never thought I would actually get a chance to do those things, and definitely not so soon in life! You know, I thought it might be a “later in life while I’m in between jobs” kind of thing.

I am so glad we chose to do it now. While travelling around different parts of Central America we have talked to a surprising number of older adult couples who are still out there going on adventures, and the one thing that all of them have said that’s the same was to travel while you are young.

I loved that, because I think that a lot of older adults in the states may recommend the opposite. They tend to have a mindset of work while your young and travel when you retire type of attitude. Why is that, I wonder? We are not guaranteed tomorrow (or retirement for that matter), so why wait?

Why wait for your body to give out, or for an illness to inhibit your actions? I’m not saying to live every day like it is your last, because that’s just not reasonable (and I tend to be a bit of a realist at times). I do think that when you are presented with an opportunity, it is your chance to seize the day, take a risk, and alter your entire future.

I have grown and changed in more ways than I thought possible since I have lived here. Through the next 30 posts I hope to give you some insight on my personal experience. Some posts will be longer and more in depth than others, and most are in no particular order.

I hope you enjoy seeing the last year of my life through my eyes!

Day 1

Day 2

Day 3

Day 4

Day 5

Day 6

Day 7

Day 8

Day 9

Day 10

Day 11

Day 12

Day 13

Day 14

Day 15

Day 16

Day 17

Day 18

Day 19

Day 20

Day 21

Day 22

Day 23

Day 24

Day 25

Day 26

Day 27

Day 28

Day 29

Day 30

Categories: Travel | Tags: , , , , , , | 28 Comments

Post navigation

28 thoughts on “30 Day Challenge: My Costa Rican Experience

  1. Pingback: Day 2: Laundry « ticavida

  2. Pingback: Costa Rica – Land of… | rfljenksy – Practicing Simplicity

  3. Pingback: Day 3: The Feria « ticavida

  4. Pingback: Day 4: No car « ticavida

  5. Pingback: Day 5: Haircut « ticavida

  6. Pingback: Day 6: Holidays « ticavida

  7. Pingback: Day 7: Pool with a view and a hot tub to boot! « ticavida

  8. Pingback: Day 8: Costa Rica Sites and Scenery « ticavida

  9. Pingback: Day 9: Cell Phones « ticavida

  10. Pingback: Day 10: Cheap Movies « ticavida

  11. Pingback: Day 11: Beautiful Weather « ticavida

  12. Pingback: Day 12: Tipper « ticavida

  13. Pingback: Day 13: Friends We’ve Made Along the Way « ticavida

  14. Pingback: Day 14: Earthquakes « ticavida

  15. Pingback: Day 15: Healthier Lifestyle « ticavida

  16. Pingback: Day 16: Things for the Home I do NOT Want « ticavida

  17. Pingback: Day 18: Clothes and Shopping « ticavida

  18. Pingback: Day 19: Foods from home I miss « ticavida

  19. Pingback: Day 20: Cooking Costa Rican style back home « ticavida

  20. Pingback: Day 20: Cooking Costa Rican style back home « ticavida

  21. Pingback: Day 21: Our Apartment « ticavida

  22. Pingback: Day 22: Costa Rican Foods We Will Miss « ticavida

  23. Pingback: Day 22: ~Fun Currency~ « ticavida

  24. Pingback: Day 24: Work Work Work « ticavida

  25. Pingback: Day 25: Some Expensive Food « ticavida

  26. Pingback: Day 26: Walking Distance to Food and other Necessities « ticavida

  27. Pingback: Day 27: Litter « ticavida

  28. Pingback: Day 28: Being Surrounded by Spanish « ticavida

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

