That’s right, there’s ANOTHER set of twins!

Ok, so some of you may not already know that in my Fourth Grade class I have been blessed this year with TWO sets of twins! Well, Yesterday another set of twins showed up in my Sixth Grade English class. They claim to be fraternal, but they look pretty identical to me!

One of my fourth-graders today thought it would be funny to stand on his chair and make funny faces to the room when I left for all of 10 seconds. Luckily two out of four of the walls in the class are made of windows and we made eye contact the second I came around the corner. BUSTED! He didn’t think it was too funny when I wrote a note home to his mom. He came and apologized to me later (without me forcing him) and I told him “Thank you, but you still have to show your mom that note..” lol.

To the far right in this picture is the corner I came around and saw him standing in his chair through the window!

Ooh! And this below is my Pinspiration for the classroom on a budget. We have a test over these tomorrow.

Love pinterest. Makes me a better teacher.

And this is my desk in my Fourth Grade class. I love all of the natural lighting. The chair on the other hand is straight-backed and wooden. Not good.

My desk.

Last thing that happened today was on my way home. I had to jog along the highway to the bus stop because my bus was pulling over and I didn’t want to wait 15 minutes for the next one. Usually if they see you are exerting enough effort, the bus driver will wait for you. So, I make it on and say “Gracias!” to the driver and pay him my 305 colones (~60 cents) when I notice there is a guitar player standing in the aisle blocking the way while singing and playing the guitar and eventually the kazoo (I think) as well. Luckily there is an empty seat in the front row next to a man in his late thirties, so I snatch it up! I think it was his seat I sat in…lol. Whoops! Once I sit down the guy leans over to me and says, “Buen corre.” and gives me a thumbs up. I reply with “Si, gracias.” and a smile and that is the end of our conversation. I know, 7 months in a Spanish speaking country and I’m basically fluent! 😉

When the man playing the instruments stops, he gives a speech and then goes around collecting change from the bus riders. If there is one thing I can say for sure about nearly every Coasta Rican is that they are generous. I have been on the bus at least three or four other times where a person gets on who has no right arm, is blind, or is disabled in some way (physically or mentally) and when they walk down the aisle after their speech majority of the people on the bus give them at least SOMETHING from their pocket. This is something that I believe would NOT happen in most parts of the U.S. We tend to look down on the poor and needy rather than empathize with them in some way.

I think before I go I should recognize that it is 9/11 today and my hearts go out to the victims of 9/11 and their families. There is no way I could function if I knew a close family member of mine went through the terror that they went through.

Costa Rica’s Independence day is on September 15. I think Peter and I will go see what kind of trouble we can get into on Saturday in downtown Santa Ana! I’ll let you know!

Pura Vida!

Categories: Travel | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “That’s right, there’s ANOTHER set of twins!

  1. Allison Ausema

    Love your classroom setup! The windows are amazing and so is the pinterest project!

  2. ticavida

    Thank you, Allison! That means a lot coming from you 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

