Fish heads for sale! Plus, Crazy Week Countdown to Summer Break!

So, in my previous post, I showcased crazy sock day. That day happened to be a spur of the moment idea, so it was a Tuesday. That Friday, I decided to make it crazy hair day. I told my students to tell the other students because in our tiny school, word tends to travel fast. Below are the photos from Crazy Hair Day…. and there are some good ones!

The whole class

RoYing, bottom middle, had her hair teased up all crazy! It was so cool. I found out later that the high school kids were all mad/sad because they didn’t know about crazy hair day, and they wanted to participate. lol.

Can you guess what his name is?? This was definitely the most unique crazy hair I’ve seen. Then again, when a boy has hair this long, and probably doesn’t want to use pony-tails because “those are for girls,” then there aren’t a whole lot of choices.

Another really cool hair idea (above)!

Sweet Susi!

I think Isabella got Crazy Hat Day and Crazy Hair Day confused…..either way, glad she’s crazy!

So, Giovanna actually brought this to school the Monday  after Crazy Hair Day, but I thought it was awesome enough to post anyway. 🙂

Also, on a side note, there is a rainbow-colored paper chain in the background of this pic is the one we made to count down the days until school is out! I have a picture of them all laid out flat (before we linked them together) in my previous post.

Second side note: all of these pictures were taken with natural lighting from the windows in the Fourth Grade room! It’s so bright in there, I only need to turn our lights on when it’s cloudy/rainy/stormy.

Ok, ok, ok, enough with the crazy hair. That was two Friday’s ago anyway! On to this past Friday, which was Rainbow Day!!

The kids were instructed to wear as many bright colors as possible. I think they succeeded! This time, I remembered to tell the rest of the school, too! So hopefully no one felt left out this time.

Coming next Friday….Crazy Hat Day!

My weekend was so awesome, I had to add a little something in here about it.

Peter usually spends most of the weekend playing, so Friday night I went with my co-worker and friend, Megan, into San Jose after school. It’s such a crazy, eclectic, packed place. We were headed to the street market to look for a few gifts for our Texan families. I got a bracelet for my 11 year old God daughter, and a little something for Peter as well. It was a brown leather bracelet. He never really wears any jewelry or things like that, but I thought it would look good on him, so I got it! He seems to like it so far. Although, he could just be a good liar. Either way, he loves me! lol. After that, we went to this Ropa Americana place that advertises selling American Clothes. Turns out it is American clothes, but picture American Thrift store. Thrift stores are definitely not something I am opposed to, but it was just very interesting. I found myself wondering how they got here to this little store in the tiny country of Costa Rica. I ended up finding a super cute fitted hoodie for $6! It’s the first clothing item I’ve bought for my self since I’ve been here. Which means I hadn’t been clothes shopping in at least 5 months! After buying the hoodie, we made our way to the bus stop to head back out to Santa Ana. Along the way I was craving ice cream, so I stopped at Micky D’s for a soft-serve vanilla cone! It was heaven! And also the first fast food I’ve eaten in CR.

Saturday, Peter hung out with me for a bit. I wanted to get out of the house, and there is this HUGE Wal-Mart off the high way in Escazu (next town over), so we decided to take the bus there and just poke around.

This was our view after we got off the bus near Wal-Mart. It was so pretty, I had to take a pic! You can also see in this pic that it’s the beginning of the rainy season…lol.

Once in Wal-Mart, we had a few free samples (YaY!) then went over to look at the meat, when we saw this:

I mean, I could be mistaken, but last time I was in a Wal-Mart in the U.S., I don’t think they sold fish heads! However, that is packaged ceviche to the right of the fish heads and that is something I would be more interested in seeing in the U.S. After this we went home and made it right before it started to pour! Good timing for us!

Now for Sunday funday! And a Fun Day it was! Megan and Jorge picked me up around 9:30 to head toward Ciudad Colon to look at an apt they may be moving in to. The guy who owned the building was from California (I swear, every American who lives here is from Cali). I suppose so many Californians move here though because it’s the same weather and environment, but a different language and cheaper! The apartment (more studio-like) that he was renting out was only $325/month and had an amazing view! Next, we headed for a country club in Belen! This place was so nice!! Golf course, tennis courts, small water park area for kids, Olympic size swimming pool for adults, and saunas! Megan and I worked out, swam, sun-bathed (while wearing SPF 50-70, no skin cancer here!), sat in the sauna, then showered. It was so relaxing! After that we went to this cool little restaurant called Pollo Asado. Below is a picture of Megan and I on the swings!

We ordered a pitcher of beer for $6, which Jorge kindly poured up (below)

And split this HUUUGE plate below between the three of us, and we were all stuffed by the end.

In the middle: black bean dip and pico de gallo.

Starting with the yellow things at the bottom right and going clockwise: Fried yucca, Mexicana chicken fajita meat, plantains, fried chicken wings, tortilla chips, and chicharrones (fried pork). It was all SOOOO freakin’ good! I was so ready for a nap by the end of today. It was bright and sunny. No clouds, no rain. Couldn’t have asked for a better Sunday over all.

Peter’s brother, Joshua, is coming for a visit in the next few days. We are getting ready for him, more family visiting after that, and a trip to the U.S. after that. We are also looking into possibly moving! We love this place, but it’s too expensive. If the owner will drop the rent some, we may stay. We’ll just see though.

Thank you for your interest in our travels and adventures. We hope you will tune in again next week when Josh is here and for Crazy hat day!

Pura Vida!

Categories: Travel | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

