Field Trip!

My first school field trip was a success! I went with grades K-5 to a place called INBioparque. I was responsible for the fourth graders (only the girls went, the two boys in my class stayed behind)

Left to right: Susana, Ro Ying, Oria, Giovanna, Jimena, Pui Yan, and Isabella

Image

and the fifth graders (these are all of them)

Left to right: Ariana, Carolina, Gina, Valentina, Andres, Alejandro, and Nadim

Image

It was only about 30 minutes away from the school, and all of those grades, plus teachers, fit in one bus. Yes, there is a student or teacher filling EVERY seat on the bus. The cute Kindergartners were in the back of the bus.

Image

Once we got there, we ate snack first, because the guided tour was 2 hours of walking around the park. Here is Teacher Barbara with some of the second, fourth, and fifth graders! She is so awesome because her dad is from the U.S. and her mom is Tica (from CR) and she grew up in CR, so she speaks perfect English and Spanish! I’m jealous! She is also awesome, because she set up the whole field trip!

Image

While we were eating, there were a few of these big iguanas lurking around, one HUGE one in particular! I found out later that this XL dude is 15-20 years old!

Image

Image

These are all of my fourth and fifth graders before the tour. Well, minus Nadim. I think that’s who Alejandro is pointing at.. lol

Image

The next photo is all of my kiddos with out tour guide Giovanni. He spoke English very well, but because two of my students don’t speak English that well, we did the tour in Spanish. Which was fine with me. I needed the practice!

Image

Next, on to the SNAKES! But, not before we saw a fawn trot across the pathway…so cute!

Image

My eagle-eyed kids spotted a sloth while we were walking! We saw two that day!

Image

My sweet girls…when they want to be nice to one another…lol. Take the two girls holding hands in this picture, for example. About a month ago Valentina, the girl on the left, was telling me how she wanted to leave school because Oria (the girl on the right) and some other girls were “being mean” to her. Elementary school drama, oh how I miss it. NOT! I’m just glad they are getting along now.

Image

Entering the butterfly (mariposa) sanctuary! This was my favorite place in the whole park.

Image

The girls would all scream if the butterflies flew around them…it was hilarious. Like, are the butterflies going to bite you?

Image

Ro Ying! Exploring for butterflies.

Image

Andres was messing with the goat. He was pulling away from the goat when I took this, so he was actually even closer to the goat’s mouth than this!

Image

Sweet Pui Yan wanted to carry my back pack! I even triedd to take it back from her and she wouldn’t let me! You believe me, right? lol

Image

FISHES (PECES)!! This was seriously the whole “aquarium”. Could maybe use a bit more variety of sea life.Image

This pic below was just too funny to me:

Image

the next few pics are all fun, turtle pics!

Image

Image

Image

On to the crocs!

Image

My sweethearts! I’m really growing too attached to these little crazies.

Image

~Fun volcano facts ~

Image

Image

Lava girls!

Image

Oh boy, can you guess what this is below? That’s right, a MAZE! It wasn’t too crazy, but it was still fun. You had to make your way to the fort on stilts in the middle.

Image

Last stop: Bunnies! This is Giovanna with one of the bunnies. All of the kids could hold them and pet them, it was so cute and the bunnies were so soft! They must have been cute, because one of my students called her mom, asked her if she could buy one, and her mom said “yes”!! It was only 3,000 colones (6USD).  Image

Fun fact about Giovanna (pictured above): she has been to more countries than she can count! We had to get the globe out the other day after I asked her where all she has been, and we had to write them down. So crazy!

The park had a self-sufficient house that ran off wind and solar power. I learned a lot from that part of the trip. It was a great day, and I was so worn out by the end of the day. So, to restore my electrolytes I had to get a coconut to drink out of on my way home from school!

A guy sells fruit out of his house down the street from us, and he hooks you up with a coconut (and cuts off the bottom so it will stand on its own, and cuts the hole in the top to put a straw in, AND does it all with a hard-core, rusty machete) all for 250 colones (50 cents)! It was a really good day, but I was so ready for the weekend by the end of it.

Categories: Travel | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Field Trip!

  1. Veronica

    I love your cute little girls too! How cool it must be to have such a small class, where you can really get to know all of them well. It looks like you had a fun field trip! I love the huge iguana, and the turtle shell that you can crawl into. I am so happy you went to CR and are having a chance to experience all of this! You are so lucky! I admire this all so much :o) Now, are you sure you are still going to move back to the states, LOL?

    • ticavida

      VV! It is SOO nice to have a small class. Most of the kids need that one on one attention due to the language barrier. Plus, it allows me to be a bit more lenient with them in class. Things never get too out of control when you only have 7-9 kids 🙂

      I am VERY glad that I decided to come to CR. I can’t believe I almost didn’t! I mean, you know it’s going to be life-changing doing something like this, but you never know how much and in what ways until you actually do it! It’s been a truly amazing experience. I try really hard not to take everything for granted while I’m here, because I know December will be here before I know it! Yes, that does mean we will be back to the states (VEGAS!) in Nov/Dec. Not gonna lie though, we have definitely considered staying longer 😉 Thanks for reading and responding!!

  2. Kass-A-Frass

    What a great bunch you have…they are lucky to have you and vice-versa. I selfishly miss you, but am so happy you are enjoying such a rare experience. Love ya!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

